Introduction to Indian Polity – Part 4 | POONA PACT OF 1932 for ssc cgl UPSC |

Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter

■ As Mahatma Gandhi went on to hunger strike Dr Ambedkar was under tremendous pressure to save the life Gandhi.
■ Hence Dr. Ambedkar accepted for an agreement.
■ This is an agreement between the Dalit’s of India led by Dr. B.R. Ambedkar and the upper caste Hindus of India.
■ This took place on September 24, 1932 at Yeravada jail.
■ Under Poona pact of 1932 there shall be seats reserved for the depressed classes out of general electoral seats in the provincial legislature.

■ The GOI Act 1935 prescribed a Federation.
■ The GOI act 1935 divided the powers into

Federal List (59)
Provincial List (54)
Concurrent List (36)
■ The residuary powers were vested with the Viceroy.
■ The GOI act of 1935 abolished the diarchy in provinces.
■ The GOI act of 1935 provided the diarchy at the center. (This did not come into operation).
■ The responsible government was introduced in provinces. The Executive authority of the province was also exercised by the Governor on behalf of the crown and not as a subordinate of the Governor-General.
■ The GOI act of 1935 introduced bicameralism (2 house, Upper and lower) in 6 out of 11 provinces. This was Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council.
■ In the rest of the provinces the legislature was unicameral.
■ This act extended separate electorate for depressed classes (SC’s), Women and labor.
■ This act extended the franchise (Right to vote). With this 10% of the population got the voting right.
■ The GOI 1935 granted limited franchise on the basis of tax, property and education.
■ The GOI act of 1935 provided for the establishment of Reserve Bank of India (RBI) in the year 1935.

■ Establishment of RBI was recommended by Hilton-Young Commission in the year 1926.
■ The RBI in the year 1935 was set up at Calcutta (Kolkata).
■ In the year 1937 RBI was shifted to Bombay (Mumbai).

■ The GOI act of 1935 provided for the establishment of Provincial and Joint Public Service Commission.
■ The GOI act also provided for the establishment of Federal Court.
■ The Federal Court was set up in the year 1937 in Delhi.
■ The seat of the Federal court was the Chamber of Princes in the Parliament building in Delhi.
■ The first Chief Justice of the Federal Court was Maurice Gwyer.
■ (Note: The present Supreme Court was established on January 28, 1950).

■ On February 20, 1947 the Prime Minister of England Sir Clement Atlee declared that the British rule in India would end by June 30, 1948.
■ The Muslim League demanded for the partition.
■ On June 3, 1947 the government announced that the constitution is not applicable to unwilling parts of the nation.
■ Lord Mount Batten (then Viceroy) put forth the partition plan on the same day. It is called Mountbatten plan. (This is also called June 3 plan).
■ This plan was accepted by both congress and Muslim league.
■ The Indian Independence Act of 1947 ended the British rule and declared India as an independent and sovereign state from August 15, 1947.
■ This act provided for the partition of the country into India and Pakistan.
■ The office of Viceroy was abolished and provided for the Governor-General for each dominion (India and Pakistan) appointed by the king.
■ This act also empowered the constituent assemblies to frame and adopt any constitution.
■ The Central legislature of India composed of the legislative assembly and the council of states ceased to exist on August 14, 1947.
■ The Indian Independence Act granted freedom to the princely states either to join India or Pakistan or to remain independent.
■ The civil servants were allowed to entitled all the benefits.
■ Lord Mountbatten became the first Governor-General of independent India.
■ Jawaharlal Nehru was sworn in as the first Prime Minister of India by Lord Mount Batten.
■ Muhammad Ali Jinnah became the first Governor-General of Pakistan.

Leave a Comment

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Latest updates from Exambin right into your mailbox. Never miss an update again.

Share this post with your friends

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Scroll to Top