Top 10 List of UNESCO world heritage sites in India

Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter

1. Great Living Chola Temples at Thanjavur

It has 3 major mouments listed together as one in unesco list.

Site:  Brihadeeshwara Temple, Gangaikonda Cholapuram  and Darasuram town

State: Tamil Nadu

Established: 11th, 12th century 2004 respectively.

Declared: 1987 respectively.

Type of Monument: Temple Architecture

The great living chola temples includes Brihadeeswara temple at Thanjavur, and Airavateswara temple at Darasuram. These temples were built by Kings of Chola empire between 11th and 12th century AD. These temples reveals importance of Tamil culture and development of Chola architecture. The massive Brihadeeswara temple at Thanjavur considered as the greatest gift from Chola architect.

Brihadeeswara temple is dedicated to lord Shiva by Chola king Rajaraja I. The temple “testifies the brilliant achievements of the Chola in architecture, sculpture, painting and bronze casting.” The walls of the temple is decorated with elegant and expensive mural paintings. 81 of 108 karanas, key transitions in bharathanatya also carved on the walls of Brihadeeswar temple.

02. Konark Sun Temple

State: Odisha

Established: 13th-century

Declared: 1984

Type of Monument: Temple Architecture

Konark Sun temple is a giant chariot shaped Hindu temple dedicated for the Sun God, Surya. Konark temple reflect architectural marvel and extreme devotion of Ancient India. It represents the chariot of God Sun, have 24 carved wheel measuring 3 meter in diameter and these wheels are drawn by seven horses. Konark temple was built back in 13th century by King Narasimhadeva I.

The Koanrk temple follows kalinga temple architecture. The carvings and architectural style of Konark temple also represents the passage of time or different seasons. The 12 different wheels represents 12 months in a year, the seven horses of chariot represents 7 days in a week and the spokes on the wheels of chariot create Sun dial, tells different stages of a day. The walls of the temple are also carved with sculptures of musicians and dancers.

03. Qutub Minar and It’s Monuments

State: Delhi

Established: Late 12th century

Declared: 1993

Type of Monument: Indo Islamic Architecture

Qutub minar is the second tallest minar in India stands at height of 72.5 meter, located in Delhi. This monument is an outstanding example of Indo-Islamic Afghan architecture. The surrounding area also contains number of tombs, mosques and summer palaces. The Quwwat-ul-Islam mosque at this archaeological site is the oldest mosque in Delhi, ghurids architectural styles was used for it’s construction. The construction of Qutub minar begun by Qitub-ud-Din Aibak in 1192 and completed by his successor IItumish in 1368.

04. Taj Mahal, Agra

State: Uttar Pradesh

Established: 17th century

Declared: 1983

Type of Monument: Marble Mausoleum 

Taj Mahal is the supreme icon of India located in the city of Agra. This mausoleum remains as most popular example of Mughal architecture and is known as ‘Crown of Palaces‘. This iconic monument was built by emperor Shah Jahan in the memory of his wife Mumtaz Mahal. In 1983 Taj Mahal became a world heritage site.

It took 21 years for the construction of Taj Mahal starting in the year 1632. Ustad Ahmad Lahauri was chief designer of Taj Mahal, Material were imported from all over India and Central Asia for it’s construction. The four side of the Taj Mahal are perfectly identical and four minarets at the corners provides three dimensional effect to the monument. The walls of Taj Mahal decorated with precious stones from Baghdad, also inscribed with lines from holy Quran.

5. Mahabodhi Temple at Bodh Gaya

State: Bihar

Established: 3rd century BC ( Emperor Ashoka ), 5th and 6th century AD (Gupta Period ) and 19th century (Major Restorations )

Declared: 2002

Type of Monument: Brick Architecture

Bodh Gaya in Bihar is said to be the place where Siddhartha gained enlightenment and became Gautama Buddha. The Complex at Bodh Gaya encloses the Mahabodhi Temple, the Vajrasana, sacred Bodhi Tree and other six sacred sites of Buddha’s enlightenment, surrounded by numerous ancient stupas. It is seen as the birthplace of Buddhism and is hence one of the most important pilgrimage sites for Buddhists.

6. Kaziranga National Park

State: Assam

Established: 20th century

Declared: 1985

Kaziranga National Park is a delight for nature lovers and wildlife explorers. It is a home to 2/3rds of world’s great one-horned rhinos.

Along with this there are many other fauna and fauna species as it is a biodiversity hotspot.

This is  why it has been given the highest amount of protection under Indian laws that relate to wildlife conservation. The national park with its beautiful landscape and pristine surroundings is a popular destination for people who want to go on a India’s natural heritage tour.

7. Mahabalipuram

State: Tamil Nadu

Established: 7th & 8th Centuries

Declared: 1984

Type of Monument: Rock Cut, Cave & Temple Architecture

A monument complex popularly known as Group of Monuments at Mahabalipuram, is positioned on the Coromandel Coast of Bay of Bengal. Mahabalipuram is situated in close proximity to Chennai in Kancheepuram district, Tamil Nadu. The architectural magnificence of the 7th and the 8th century monument makes Mahabalipuram a peerless illustration of ancient civilization and beliefs.

Mahabalipuram was the capital region during the reign of Pallava Dynasty in the 7th century AD. The Pallavas rulers used to hold the ultimate command in the southern part of India, after the decline of Gupta Dynasty.

8.Group of Monuments at Hampi

State: Karnataka

Established: 14th and 16th Centuries

Declared: 1986

Type of Monument: Temple Architecture

Hampi is one of the most popular tourist sites in the whole of South India. It lies within the ruins of the ancient, prosperous kingdom of Vijayanagar. The ruins at Hampi are a collection of temples, bazaars and residential quarters depicting the fine Dravidian style of art and Architecture. The most important heritage monument in this site is the Virupaksha Temple, which continues to be a very important religious centre for the Hindus.

9. Ellora Caves

State: Maharashtra

Established: 600 to 1000 AD

Declared: 1983

Type of Monument: Cave Architecture

These caves are a group of Buddhist, Hindu and Jain caves. Built by Rashtrakuta dynasty, these have been put in the list of World heritage Sites by UNESCO due to their cultural importance. Rock cut architectural style used in the construction of these caves is worth seeing as it looks very brilliant. We can get an idea about the religious concord that prevailed at that time as Hindu, Buddhist and Jain caves were all located at the same site.

10. Western Ghats

State: Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu

Declared: 2012

The Western Ghats Combines,

Agasthiyar Malai mountain , Periyar National Park and Wildlife Sanctuary, Anai malai Hills, Nilgiri Hills, Tala kaveri Wildlife Sanctuary, Kudremukh, Sahyadri mountain range

The Western Ghats that line the western coast of the Indian peninsula cover an area of 1,60,000 sq. kilometers What you may not know is that this region ranks amongst the World’s top ten “Hottest Biodiversity Hotspots”. The fact that it is home to a diverse collection of rare and endangered species of flora and fauna is the reason why it is one of the UNESCO World Heritage Sites in India.

There are 36 World Heritage Sites all over India, The full list is given as PDF in the Description you can Download it.



Leave a Comment

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Latest updates from Exambin right into your mailbox. Never miss an update again.

Share this post with your friends

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Scroll to Top